Stuff that Helped me Post Nov. 8

Around midnight on November 8, I figured it was highly likely that I would have to stop my media junkie habits.  But, that wasn’t really going to happen.  So, instead, every time I hear (I can’t say president elect) Trump’s voice, I just turn off the radio. It’s a temporary solution.  I realize I can’t live under a rock forever (or in Canada – its too cold and Canadians just seem too nice ), but I have found a few things that have helped me start to process the results of the 2016 presidential election.  Here’s the beginning of my list.  Maybe they’ll help you too.

Terry Gross Interview with James Fallows

(Because Fallows is smart and so is Gross and they help me put things in perspective.)

Leslie Knope on the 2016 Presidential Election Results

(Because Poehler (as Knope from Parks and Rec) reminds girls that Trump is not the kind of person to look up to and to keep speaking their minds and not to let anyone think they can shut you up just because you’re a girl.)

Kate McKinnon’s Cold Opening on SNL

(Because, well, it’s beautiful.)

The American Civil Liberties Union

(Because we need to fight for our rights and serve the marginalized.)

 

Leave a Reply

